General Education Services
Special Education Services
Header that says Early Childhood Education
Picture of young students standing around a drawing of the world

Contact Us


Teresa Chavez headshot

Teresa Chavez

(254) 297-1134

Early Childhood Special Education

Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) is a state and federally mandated program for children with disabilities ages 3-5. Children who meet eligibility criteria may receive Early Childhood Special Education services in a variety of settings such as a pre-kindergarten classroom, kindergarten classroom, in the home, or in community settings such as Head Start and early learning centers.


The early childhood team at Region 12 provides professional development, resources, and consultative assistance in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Act of 2004.