Find It Fast:   Home    Staff Directory    Training     Contact Us    Region 12 Districts
Connect with ESC12
Administrators & Leadership
Campus Leadership

Region 12 Award Winners 


ESC Region 12 is committed to recognizing winners in our region.

View this year's winners and nominees >

Ready to see your school on our list?

Apply today!

Superintendent of the Year 

Teacher of the Year 

School Board of the Year 

2017-18 Winners
  • Dr. Marc Faulkner

    China Spring ISD

    Dr. Marc Faulkner has served as superintendent in China Spring ISD since 2012. His actions and attitude focus on implementing systems, policies and practices that encourage his students, his faculty and his community to strive for excellence.

    Faulkner is an active member of various associations in his community including the Texas Association of School Administrators, the China Spring-Bosqueville Area Lions Club, and Friends of Texas Public Schools.

    He has multiple degrees and certifications, including a Master of Education from Tarleton State University and a Ed.D. in Educational Leadership from Stephen F. Austin State University. He served in many roles at CSISD and the surrounding districts prior to his tenure as superintendent, including assistant superintendent for CSISD and principal of China Spring High School.

  • Craig Sullivan

    Belton ISD

    Craig Sullivan has taught for 31 years and serves as a Construction Science Teacher at Belton High School in Belton ISD. He graduated from Belton High School and returned to teach there after pursuing his degree and teacher’s certification. His teaching focuses on training students to meet the labor skill gap by learning hands-on construction skills for projects in the school and around the community.

    Sullivan believes “that hands-on learning and preparing students for work in the industry is vital to the construction trade, the community and our nation’s workforce."

  • Deborah DeGraff

    Waco ISD

    Deborah DeGraff has taught for eight years and serves as the Science Lab Teacher at Bell’s Hill Elementary in Waco ISD. She chose to enter the teaching field after her husband’s career in the United States Air Force took her around the world while raising her three children. Her teaching style focuses on innovative, hands-on lessons to make science relevant and meaningful to her students.

    She believes that “teaching all students at every grade level demands that every lab experience be adequately prepared, delivered and executed to create a lasting impression on each student.”

  • Killeen Board of Trustees

    John Craft, Superintendent
    Terry Delano, President
    Corbett Lawler, Vice President
    Minerva Trujillo, Secretary
    Shelley Wells
    Susan Jones
    JoAnn Purser
    Marvin Rainwater

2016 Winners
  • Dr. Robin Battershell

    Temple ISD

    Dr. Robin Battershell has served in Temple ISD since 2008. Under Battershell’s leadership, TISD established a unified vision of community support and credibility, and the district is on a path of focused and goal-oriented progress. She is an active member of various associations in her community including Texas Association of School Administrators, Texas Association of School Boards and Temple Chamber of Commerce. She has several degrees and certifications, including a Master of Science in Education Psychology from the University of Houston and a Ed.D. in Education Administration from Baylor University. She led Salado ISD as Superintendent from 1998 to 2008, and served in administrative positions in Killeen ISD.

  • Mrs. LaGay Pittenger

    Belton ISD

    Mrs. LaGay Pittenger has been teaching at Lakewood Elementary in Belton ISD for 23 years and has more than 25 years of teaching experience. Ultimately, her goal is to instill a love of learning in her students. In her history classes, her students act out events, wear hats, sing songs, draw pictures and create maps to learn about the past. Pittenger is an active member of the Parent Teacher Association, a Belton Educational Enrichment Foundation donor and attends many district events, ranging from academics to fine arts and sports. For the last 10 years, her family has awarded a scholarship for a Belton High School graduate planning to attend Abilene Christian University.

  • Mr. Michael Chirhart

    Hillsboro ISD

    Mr. Michael Chirhart has been teaching for four years at Hillsboro High School in Hillsboro ISD. He teaches biology, anatomy and physiology and environmental science, as well as advanced placement courses. Chirhart’s teaching philosophy is to inspire his students with real-world applications for science that stimulate critical thinking. He incorporates a variety of teaching methods including carrying out investigations, collecting data and presenting findings with creative projects such as posters and multimedia presentations. Chirhart is a member of the American Federation of Teachers, Science Teachers Association of Texas and serves as a Cub Master for the Cub Scouts of America in West, Texas.

  • Waco ISD Board of Trustees

    More than 1,000 students

    Waco ISD Board of Trustees oversees education for nearly 15,000 students on 26 campuses in Central Texas.  Enrollment is 87 percent economically disadvantaged, and 77 percent of students are considered “at-risk.” The district now provides 15 elementaries and 11 secondary campuses, three of which are magnet schools. In addition, the district utilizes a “school within a school” concept for its Gifted and Talented academy, an International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme and a Career & Technology Academy. One strength of the WISD Board is its commitment to efficiently represent its constituencies and stand as a community-based Board. Through a number of formal feedback channels, the Board and administration are able to respond to urgent needs and the changing educational environments. One example is the creation of Community Transformation Committee meetings. The Board invited parents, partners, community members and other stakeholders to a series of public meetings to provide valuable input to help under-performing campuses.

    Aquilla ISD Board of Trustees

    Less than 1,000 students

    Aquilla ISD Board of Trustees oversees education in a rural school district in north central Texas with nearly 300 students in its K-12 setting. The Board encourages effective instructional management within the school by maintaining an active role in the curriculum and instructional philosophies at the district. The Board and school staff are proud of their efforts to consistently pursue exemplary ratings from yearly STAAR testing through an increased focus on academics, via a rigorous and challenging curriculum. Most recently, the district received 100 percent passing rates in end of course algebra, biology and U.S. History.  As part of this focus, the district is expanding their fine arts, music and art programs and continuing to acquire current technology for use in classrooms. The Board and leadership are preparing students for a higher education. The trustees believe that a commitment to excellence and a focus on incorporating cutting-edge instructional methods into the classroom will allow a small school like Aquilla to continue to thrive.

Copyright © Education Service Center Region 12 2017. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM